One Lonely Night

It was past midnight when he and I got out of the bar where we had met up with our friends. It was too late to catch a bus and too dangerous to take a cab. He had had too much to drink that night, so he couldn’t drive me back to my place. Since his apartment was nearby, I decided to sleepover.

As we were walking to his apartment, he was smoking a cigarette while listening to me spouting nonsense. Since we had been friends since high school, so we were used to each other’s company, and there was no tension between us. He treated me the same way he would treat one of his mates from the football club, and I treated him as though he were my little brother. We used to sleep over at each other’s apartments all the time.

His was a studio apartment with a view of the city, we could see the neon sign of the bar we had just left.  The smell of his room was flowery. Even though he was a smoker, he never smoked inside his room. He always kept it clean, tidy and fragrant.

He took off his jeans, and went straight to the bed without saying a word. I washed my face, changed my t-shirt, and replaced my jeans with a pair of short pants that I had left in his apartment some days ago in case of another sleepover.

As usual, we slept in his king size bed with our backs to each other. He seemed to have dozed off quickly, and  I intended to do the same. But, for some reason, on that particular night, I couldn’t quiet my mind. I kept thinking back a conversation we had had at the bar.  We had talked about life, and how we were both getting old and had wasted too much time pursuing our careers. We were tired and lonely, and unable to continue changing partners every weekend just to ease our nights. My mind kept wandering, and my thoughts turned to him. He seemed to be fast asleep, probably as a result of the alcohol, but I felt a strong urge to talk to him.

Suddenly, I felt him turn around to face my back and I could feel him staring at me. I watched the moon slowly drifting out of view through window in front of me, but it was still bright enough to light up the room. I wondered whether he was drunk enough to do something weird. Then, I felt him stroking my hair.

I turned to face him; he looked wide awake.

“You can’t sleep?”, I looked into his eyes, trying to guess what’s on his mind.

“Not enough alcohol to knock me out, I think.”, he continued stroking my hair, and looked at me intently.

It’s like I knew what he wanted; I kissed him on the lips. It made him stop for a while but then he rolled up on top of me, kissing me passionately. He showered me with kisses; on my cheeks, my lips and my neck. I couldn’t help myself not to wrap my arms around him tightly. The heat began to rise.

He pulled away and took his t-shirt off; the sight of his fit muscular body was so mesmerizing. When had he become so fit? Last year? When we were on competing with each other to build a sexy body so that our exes regret leaving us. I didn’t really care. That night, I embraced him as he caressed me. That night we lost ourselves the passion.

Where am I? I asked myself as I opened my eyes. I needed a few seconds to remember what had just happened. I curled up under the blanket, it would be morning soon. The room was still dark, with just enough light for me to see him putting on his boxers and t-shirt.

“Where you going?”, I asked him.

“Ah, nowhere. Out to buy breakfast?”, he stopped for a while, looking at my wrinkled forehead.

“You’re not gonna leave me, are you? This is your place, not mine. You can’t run away from your own place, silly.”, I caught him red-handed.

“Damn! I forgot! So, breakfast?”, stupid little brat, he’s fucking around too much, he couldn’t remember that I’m not his bitch and that it’s his apartment.

“Just have something delivered, I’m not in the mood to go out.”, finally, I decided to get up and get dressed. I was sitting on the edge of the bed watching the sunrise, while he ordered some food. Ah, this was gonna be awkward.

A moment later, we got our food delivered. He was already wearing his hoodie. I saw him smiling at the sight of his breakfast like a kid looking at McDonald Happy Meal. I swear I didn’t intend to do it, but I kissed him on his cheek.

“Good morning, love.”, I said with a little smile, I knew how awkward it sounded. He looked at me with that ‘What the hell did you just say bro!’ look on his face. I dug into my food, and ignored him.

“So..”, he began to speak, “What are we now?”

“What?”, I looked at his confused face, and held my laugh. “Well, what do you want? I accept whatever your choice is. If you want us to stay a friends, just say it. Or we could try something else. I don’t really mind if it’s you, we’ve already done it anyway.”

“Hmm… Let’s try it. I mean, a relationship.”, I swear I almost threw up when I heard him say that.

“Ok then. Let’s start dating.”, I smiled and continued to eat. Then, he suddenly pulled my chin and kissed me on the lips, I almost dropped my spoon, but he put on a childish smile.

“Good morning, love. Sorry for forgetting to reply to your ‘good-morning’ earlier.”

Damn, he made me blush.

Jakarta, September 6, 2018.
– Xoxo, Ayase Kim

Tangerang, July 04, 2021.
– Special Thanks to Tomislav Ratajec for editing my bad English writing lol

**Behind the story: Finally, I wrote out one of my Lucid Dreams with some elaboration. And this is my latest Lucid Dream that happened in my sleep. If you ask who he is, it’s Bobby iKon, LOL. He’s not even my bias, why in the world would he appear in my lucid dream, but he’s handsome tho. NO, it’s not a wet dream, #slap

Pic Credit to https://remindie.tumblr.com/post/165119656939

Tinggalkan komentar

Situs yang Didukung WordPress.com.

Atas ↑